Genesis

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3 Years Down The Drain

As hectic as my week has been and an even more hecticker week next week. I have much to be grateful for.

I truly try to focus on the positive....move as quickly from that which is negative.

If you have read my diary for any lenght of time, you'll know that for the truth.

Yesterday we had a conference call between the Insurance Company, Program Director, Therapist, Ruben and Myself.

Ruben has done exceptionally well at the CRR Group Home he is placed at! I could not sing my Praise enough for what all they have done for Ruben. My heart swelled with Pride when I heard the accomplishments Ruben achieved. Ruben being only 13 years old is capable to look at his life situation and those involved in his life, with more clarity than most fully grown adults!

He had even acknowledge the care and love that I have given to him the past 3 years.

Then I got a kick in my stomach.

The Insurance Company isn't going to pay for Ruben to go through the private Theraputic Foster Care that this Agency has.........a major selling point, to me, to get him into their Program.

The Insurance Representive told me that if I'm unwilling to take Ruben to live with me and the Family, then he will be turned back over to Children and Youth Service!

3 years for naught!

3 years back to square 1!

My heart is broken. I love Ruben dearly, but I can not, for the sake of Vinny's safty take a chance at the roll of the dice.

I tried very hard to surpress my disappointment. I explained to her that the reason Ruben has flourished so well, is due to the excellent environment.

That Children and Youth were originally involved in his case, hence my knowing him. That he had been placed with me for 5 days. The whole 5 days that Children and Youth had his case open!

The 5 days that they felt he didn't warrant, need, deserve being in a safe environment. Only to be returned to his Mother, who said to Ruben when he was feeling suicidal..."go ahead and hang yourself, I don't give a fuck." The same 'safe' environment, if not for the compassion of what ever derelict the Mother had living with the family, cut Ruben down from the window in which he hung!

The same Agency that let Ruben sit in a Mental Institution for weeks, with no involvement whats so ever!

This is now Ruben's plight!

I have 3 weeks to work a miracle.

I truly see no miracle upon the horizon.

The CRR group home is going to try their hardest at getting Ruben into placement with them and I will attempt to have C&YS help me.

Fat chance of that! Not only through past screw ups....but also because MrEunuch will be the Supervisor in control of this matter.

8:26 p.m. - 2004-04-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

myexodus