Genesis

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yay All The Fund Raising Is Over

I'm so happy to have the Scholastic Book Sale/Fund Raiser over with. The BBQ Chicken one is done and over with also....what a great success that was. Next year we'll have to order more than the 200 extras.

I got the flu on Monday, couldn't understand why I was in so much pain and misery. We had to drive 2 hours (4 hours round trip) to celebrate Ruben's Birthday.

Since I don't see him much anymore, it always amazes me how mature he is becoming.

He truly does seem to be coming to terms with his Family situation. Makes you sad and releaved at the same time. Its sad to see hopes and dreams dashed away with a dose of reality. But he is in a good place and they really do seem to be helping him.

We had the Teacher Appreciation Luncheon today. All week I kept hoping to feel well enough to bake pretty desserts, but gave up that thought at 5:30 this morning. I was still feeling crappy and I wouldn't want to eat food of someone who was sick.

So after dropping Vinnie off I ran to the Bakery Shop and bought a large assortment of cookies, creme puffs and eclairs....scrubbed my body up good and arranged them on platters.

They all looked so yummy and festive.

I then went up to the school and helped set up the Library to celebrate our appreciation for all their hard and dedicated work.

It was beautiful in there and as the Teachers passed they said the smells were delightful....I can't smell anything...lovely season that just leaves me a bag of itch with no sense of taste or smell.

And it was done at half the cost of last year!

The Families have to remember to reach in their pockets and help with donations! I know I dug in and pulled out a lot towards this. The Families of the Students need to learn not to depend upon the fund raisers to pay for everything.

As tacky as it is, next year I'll be sending out notes for the Parents to make a money contribution towards this event.

We ran out of some things in the midst and prior to that, while I was up there, I realized we didn't have certain things like pitcher to have sitting at the beverage table. Having jugs of Iced Tea and Lemon-ade look tacky, so I ran and picked up pitchers.

I didn't stay to help serve the food. But I was told everyone enjoyed everything. There wasn't much left over and what desserts were left we sent to the Kindergarten kids.

I know I bitched and moaned earlier about the money being spent and the ingratitude of what us Volunteers provide. But ALL Parents truly need to pull money out of their pockets to show there gratitude because they are also doing a thankless job.

We had a quick meeting of the Officers and the budget isn't looking great. The fund raisers aren't raising enough to cover the higher costs that are going to incur next school year. I am not an ass kisser and will not allow more money being allotted to Teacher Appreciation Week than for Educational Class Field Trips!

I spoke with the Librarian in what she desires book wise. She said that she doesn't like Scholastic Books for the library, the titles become passe quickly and their resource books aren't what she prefers. I told her that I will see that she receives the cash for the profits of the sales so that she can purchase the books she likes.

She was also telling me that she runs the other Book Fairs at the other City schools because none of the Parents want involvement.

I just wished the Teachers at our school were more aware of the things we do for them so that they have extra classroom money allotted to them to help refurnish their educational resources.

Who knows, they probably do, I'm just sick and grouchy and need to get some rest. Especially before we revise the budget.

10:29 p.m. - 2004-05-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

myexodus