Genesis

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Day My Brother Almost Drowned My Son

My bum is numb. I've been sitting here browsing through this and that and discovered what I'm getting Tim for our anniversary and me for my birthday.

I love my birthday!

For Tim, this CD: Stanley Turrentine, Salt Song

Me these CD's: Nina Simone, Baltimore and Anita O'Day, All the Sad Young Men.

~*~

Yesterday, I browsed through my archives looking for a certain entry, only to realize, I never even documented it!

Sharon so kindly pointed out one time, that I suck at telling stories. I have to agree with her. I can't tell a story for the life of me. So in order to compensate for that deficiency, I've uploaded pictures.

Trust me, I've put a lot of effort into this entry. I usually just jot and dash. But this one required me to go in search of the Photo Album and etc.

But, I'm really not complaining, because I'm still surprised I never wrote about this incident.

~*~

My one brother is an expert yachter, he sails often and far. He does it for pleasure, and has been hired off to sail and race other's yachts. He's even building his own.

Anyhow, he joined us down at Ocean City one day for a couple days. The last day we were there, it was a beautiful and perfect day to go sailing. He had asked my son if he wanted to go? Matty never did it before and said sure.

Me, well I felt Matty was in safe hands...see above statement about said brother.

We went to Me11ow Beach and Brother knew the guy who owned the rental there, and got a catamaran, to whip around the bay on.

Oh, they were having fun, speeding all around the bay! Ah, the jubilation Matty must have been experiencing! I was envious, but knew my Brother would never, ever take me on a catamaran ever ever again.

Then, the most unbelievable thing happened...

That damn Catamaran sank! Here is a picture of Matty and myself standing on the dock, after some other people picked him up out of the Bay.

Matty was very lucky. Some other people out, saw it sinking, and dashed over to help. My brother for some reason or another stayed with it......see I wished I'd of written of this long ago. I think he was trying to get it unstuck. Anyhow, he came back to shore.

Here we are waiting to find out if the Coast Guards could drag it in.

The Coast Guards came back and said they couldn't do anything and that it would have to be salvaged.

Yikes

So, my brother, the owner and some other people went out and dragged it in.

While waiting to see what would become of the catamaran, we had lunch and a few drinks. Matty in the mean time had to go to the bathroom. When he came back to the table, he was so embarrassed. He said people were in there talking and laughing about someone sinking a catamaran, and when they saw him, they pointed and said "He's the one who sank it"!

Poor Kid, he was only 14 at the time and his first and only time sailing.

But, they did bring it in and here is a picture to prove a happy ending.

2:12 p.m. - 2004-01-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

myexodus